About Us

Australian Ride On Lawn Mower Racing Association

Australia’s first mower race was dreamt up in a small, country pub in Harrietville Victoria in 1988. Five men challenged each other to a race around the local hills of the area after an alcohol-related argument.

They chugged up the steep slopes belching smoke from their unmodified Briggs and Strattons , rounded a nominated gum tree, then flew down in “Angel Gear” – Australian outback slang for neutral – to the finish line.

“Half the town’s 100 people, 300 sheep and 150 dogs were there,” according to Brian Ross, six-time president of the Australian Ride-On Lawn Mower Racing Association (AROLMRA), the biggest lawn mower racing club in Australia.

AROLMRA has over 100 members and a large following in Victoria, and all over Australia. It holds between eight and ten races a year. The majority of races are held to raise money for local service Clubs, Associations and Charity Organizations such as the CFA, Apex, Rotary and the Royal Childrens Hospital Appeal.

There are also Lawn Mower Racing Clubs and Associations in QLD, NSW, WA and SA. The first ever national race between the earlier clubs was held in Dubbo NSW on May 16, 2009 which was then followed by the Format we see today developed by the late Ken Booy and put in place by CQMRC in May 2015.

New Members are always welcome! If you would like more information on becoming a racer or holding an event: